Resources

Knowledge Base

How To Work On A Project Using TFS

UiPath Studio integrates a series of actions that allows you and your team to have a better collaboration on the project.

1. Get latest version

To get the latest version of the entire project you should right click on the root folder in the “Project” tab and select "Get Latest Version" from the menu.

Get Latest Version menu actually gets the latest version of the selected file or folder from the TFS server. So if you want to get the latest version only for a file, you should right click on that file and select "Get Latest Version".

2. Editing

To edit a workflow you need to check out for edit that file (which is read-only on your machine and can’t be edited). Checking out a file locks it on the server so that no one else can edit it. The “Check Out For Edit” option appears in the Context menu for each of the files or folders in the Project. If you select "Check Out For Edit” for a folder, the whole content of the folder is checked out and can be edited.

To open a workflow you can select "Open" from the menu or use double click on a workflow name in the Project panel.

Before opening a workflow, a dialog will ask you if you want to check out for edit the file.

3. Check in changes

To check in changes, select "Check In" from the context menu. This will open a dialog where you can see all the changes made.

Select the changes that you want to check in, set a commit message and click the “Check In” button.

4. Add

To add a new file that you created in your project to source control you select the file in the “Project” tab, right click on it and select the “Add” menu item.

This operation only marks the file as “added under source control” but does not effectively make the file available to everyone. The “Add” operation is not committed until you perform the “Check In …” operation. The “Add” operation can be undone by using the “Undo” functionality on that file.

After you add the file, select the file and perform the “Check In” operation.

5. Undo changes

If you have made changes to one or more files in your project and you want to discard those changes, you can undo those pending changes.

To undo changes, select "Undo" from the context menu. This will open a dialog where you can see all the changes that can be undone. 

If necessary, you can select additional files with changes that you want to undo. Click the “Undo” button.

6. History

The feature of displaying the history of changes on one file or folder requires installing Microsoft’s Team Explorer. Selecting the menu option “History” checks whether this application is installed or not. If it isn’t installed, UiPath Studio displays the following message:

By clicking YES, you download and therefore you can install Team Explorer, a component of Visual Studio 2013. The download and utilization of this component is free of charge.

The integration of this MS application in UiPath Studio is accomplished through the “History” menu option.

If Team Explorer component is installed, a screen similar to this one appears on your computer:

By double-clicking a change set (double-click an item in the list) or right-clicking and selecting “Change set Details…” a new window appears where you can compare that version with other versions, rollback to that version, update the comment, etc.

For more information about using the History functionality provided by Team Explorer, visit Viewing Historical Data for Files under Version Control.